David CT Eves CB

David Eves graduated with Honours in English Literature and Language at Durham University and qualified as a teacher before joining HM Factory Inspectorate in 1964. He became its Chief Inspector in 1985. As Deputy Director General of the Health and Safety Executive, he was one of its three statutory Members from 1989 until 2002, when he retired from the Civil Service.

Since then he has acted both as an independent consultant and as an associate director of Sancroft International Ltd, a consultancy specialising in corporate social responsibility. He has advised government departments in the Republic of Ireland and New South Wales, Australia on regulatory matters and at home he has assisted Defra and the Health Protection Agency with reviews and investigations. He has served as a co-opted member of the National Occupational Safety and Health Committee of the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA), the Policy Development Board of the Chartered Institute of Environmental Health (CIEH) and the Research Committee of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH). He has also served as Secretary General of the International Association of Labour Inspection (IALI) and Vice President of Safety Groups UK (SGUK), and is currently an ambassador for the National Examination Board for Occupational Safety and Health (NEBOSH).

David is also the author of ‘Disasters – learning the lessons for a safer world’ and co-author of ‘Questioning Performance – the director’s essential guide to health, safety and the environment’, both published by the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH). He recently completed Two steps forward, one step back: A brief history of the origins, development and implementation of health and safety law in the UK, 1802–2014.

He was honoured to be appointed a Companion of the Order of the Bath by the Queen in 1993 and to receive an Award for Distinguished Service from the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents in 2000. He is an Honorary Vice President and retired Fellow of IOSH from whom he received a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2002. He is an Honorary Fellow of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM) and a member of the Hazards Forum.

April 2014